Day 03: The Day I Cried

My tears are shallow. I cry when I watch a movie. I cry when I watch a touching advertisement. I cry when I read something heartwarming. But this afternoon, I cried for one very shallow reason: my son’s toy (Avalanche from Disney’s Planes: Fire and Rescue) fell on my head while I was lying on the bed. He was playing with it on the headboard, lost his grip and his toy rolled down the curve and hit my head with a thud. Did it hurt? Yes. Was I in pain? Yes. But not that much to cause an overly reactive tearglands. I was crying my heart; my husband thought I was badly hurt.

I don’t know why I cried that much but let me tell you, it felt great afterwards. It’s like I have been wanting to cry for a long time and now that I have let it out, I felt lighter. Have you ever had that feeling? That you want to cry but you don’t know why? That is how I felt. So I just lay there, curled up on the bed with my hand covering my head, crying until my tears ran dry.

My son hugged me, said sorry, kissed me on the cheek and went to sleep. What a way to end the day!

Leave a Reply

